Frequently asked questions (FAQ)

Are there different types of cemeteries listed on the GPR?

When the GPR first started in 1998 it only photographed churchyards.

However, over time the GPR's scope has extended and now includes other types of cemeteries and memorials:

  1. local council/community cemeteries - {code A}
  2. church burial grounds - {code C}
  3. military (forces) cemeteries - {code F}
  4. cathedral, abbey or chapel burial grounds - {code H}
  5. interior of church monuments - {code I}
  6. cremation memorials - {code K}
  7. other memorial (e.g. park benches, tree markers) - {code M}
  8. private cemeteries - {code P}
  9. church/official records only - {code R}
  10. war memorials - {code W}
  11. roll of honours (war casualty lists within churches) - {code W}
  12. other memorials - {code M}
  13. clergy lists - {code V}

Each of these different types has its own specific display format within the GPR.

google ad

Gravestone Photographic Resource (GPR)

An international directory of grave, tomb, war and other death memorials.

© copyright Gravestone Photographic Resource 1998 - 2023

Running free of charge for 25 years!